Momma C

I’m lucky. I am SO lucky.
Not only am I thankful for my family, but I am thankful for my newly introduced family. I am thankful for my family who loves everyone. And I mean EVERYONE. We even love the mean people. (at least we try our best to). We don’t really know how not to love, and I’m thankful for that.
Over Thanksgiving break, my soon to be in-laws came for the first time to meet my family. It. Was. Awesome. It was so wonderful! I had met PK’s (that’s what we call him now) family for the first time almost a year ago when he returned home from Peru. I instantly felt accepted by his parents- something I was 100% terrified about. (since I’m pretty weird and all)
When his parents came to meet my parents, and my sisters, and my cousins, and my grandparents, and my aunts, and my uncles, I had no doubt that my family would love them like they were family!
We laughed and had such a fun time! We ate WAY too much food, celebrated a birthday, tried nasty nasty soda from Pops, and then ate more food again. I just can’t get over how much fun it was! They didn’t even try to escape as my sisters pretended to beat each other up down the hall, or as my sister did “gymnastics” in the living room, or when my aunt forgot the beloved deviled eggs.
We went dress shopping, and I said YES to the most beautiful dress that I am so excited to wear for my husband. I felt overjoyed and so loved as I watched my mom and new mom crying together and laughing together, realizing the importance of their lives, realizing the significance of the moment, and the significance of the love that PK and I have, and bonding over this experience.
The last few weeks of my life have been really hard, and I cannot even express the overwhelming joy I experienced as I saw my two families become one, before it’s even legally official.
Folks, if you need a family, just come to my parent’s door. They will invite you in. They did it to the neighbor boys, and now I have 2 brothers! FINALLY!

After their visit was over, I realized that I had forgotten to figure out one major thing: What to call my new mother- in-law. I somehow made it through two separate visits without asking a name or picking one. When I told my mom, she said, “well…how does she know you are talking to her? How do you get her attention?”
Usually by sudden hand movements, or eye contact. Hah. No really.
So, here are a few names I’ve been thinking of:
Momma C
Madam Carol
Carol of the Bells
Ma’am
Mother Carol
Mom
Carol
I guess it doesn’t reeeeeeeally matter what I choose. She’s family now and will love me anyway. (I hope)
People, don’t run from a good family. Realize how blessed you are to have unconditional love.
If you need a little more, our doors are always open. (We will feed you too much food, too)
I’ve come to the conclusion that somewhere in my youth or childhood, I must have done something good. Or maybe I’m just still  high on The Sound Of Music Live.

2 thoughts on “Momma C

  1. You are pretty amazing, I can’t seem to ever get my thoughts and feelings on paper-something you do soooo well! As for what you want to call me, I’m good with Momma C, Mom or Carol or all three whichever fits the occassion. Hugs

  2. 🙂 I’ve learned how to put my thoughts on paper from being in the School of Theology and Ministry, lol. We do a lot of opinion papers.
    :O I get to pick according to the occasion? Oh boy, this is going to be fun!

Leave a Reply

